CHANGER DE LANGUE: EN ITA FR

8 décennies d’expérience au service de l’innovation

Fondée sur l’île italienne de la Sardaigne en 1941, Ganau allie plus de huit décennies d’expérience à une technologie de pointe pour créer les meilleurs bouchons possible. Ganau, un des plus importants producteurs de bouchons au monde, est le premier choix des vinificateurs de marque qui privilégient la pureté, la qualité et la fiabilité.


Faites defiler pour découvrir les avantages Ganau

Bouchons naturels

Pureté incomparable

La gamme de bouchons naturels de Ganau tire avantage des qualités intrinsèques du liège pour créer le bouchon attendu des  vinificateurs renommés du monde entier. La fabrication manuelle des bouchons naturels réalisée par des artisans de talent, associée à un processus de nettoyage en deux étapes, cette gamme redéfinit le bouchon traditionnel pour le vinificateur du 21e siècle, incorporant le pinacle de la qualité et de la simplicité.

Bouchons naturels

Découvrez les possibilités

Ganau offre une gamme de bouchons naturels déclinés en une variété de couleurs, d’aspect naturel ou blanchi à l’eau oxygénée. Le fini naturel de Ganau utilise un simple lavage à l’eau pour préserver la texture brute du liège. Les clients peuvent également choisir un lavage à l’eau oxygénée sans immersion, conçu pour mettre en valeur l’aspect et minimiser l’exposition aux agents de lavage. En offrant une sélection complète de bouchons naturels, Ganau assure à ses clients une gamme de la meilleure qualité et la plus haute pureté.

Bouchons techniques

Une alternative innovante et accessible

Le large éventail de bouchons techniques de Ganau offre une alternative à ses bouchons naturels. Ganau joint à ses processus une technologie de pointe pour assurer cohérence et qualité à chacune de ses gammes de bouchons techniques, du 1+1 standard aux nouvelles gammes de bouchons agglomérés PRIMO et UNIQ.

Afin d’assurer qualité et pureté, tous les granulés utilisés pour ses bouchons techniques proviennent du liège brut destiné à cette fin, et des coproduits issus de la fabrication de bouchons naturels et de rondelles.

 

UNIQUNIQ

Consacrés par plusieurs laboratoires indépendants et établis comme le numéro un des bouchons agglomérés, les bouchons UNIQ constituent le choix des vinificateurs du 21e siècle.

Les bouchons UNIQ sont constitués de microgranulés de liège naturel choisis pour leur taille uniforme d’au plus 1 mm, et de microsphères de haute technologie liés par un agent neutre. Ils offrent un résultat organoleptique supérieur, un taux de récupération rapide, une homogénéité mécanique et un débouchage facile.

Les microgranulés UNIQ sont nettoyés et séchés selon le processus de Ganau, mélangés à des microsphères pour un gain d’élasticité et moulés individuellement à des fins d’uniformité.

Notre gamme UNIQ est le choix de bouchons techniques le plus élaboré proposé aux vinificateurs qui recherchent technologie supérieure, neutralité et fiabilité.

C3 Bouchons
(1+1)

La première gamme de bouchons techniques de Ganau, C3, offre des corps agglomérés munis d’une rondelle de liège naturel à chaque extrémité.

Ces corps agglomérés sont composés de granulés de liège nettoyés avec soin avant d’être choisis pour leur taille uniforme, leur poids et leur qualité. Nous moulons individuellement ces corps (au lieu de les extruder) pour assurer un bouchage de meilleure qualité, un bouchon uniforme et un débouchage facile. Une fois les corps des bouchons C3 réalisés, nous ajoutons une rondelle de liège naturel à chaque extrémité, en apportant une valeur ajoutée esthétique à un prix concurrentiel.

PRIMO CorksPRIMO Corks

Les bouchons PRIMO combinent des ingrédients naturels de qualité à une technologie de pointe. Conçus pour offrir fiabilité et qualité de façon continue, ils sont moulés individuellement pour une meilleure uniformité et un aspect supérieur.

Des microgranulés de liège de qualité sont choisis pour leur taille uniforme d’au plus 2 mm avant d’être traités (jusqu’à 180 °C) afin de réduire considérablement la teneur en TCA. Un agent neutre lie les microgranulés de liège naturel pour faire des bouchons PRIMO.

Un choix économique pour les vins non destinés à la garde.

La gamme PRIMO tire pleinement avantage du processus de production spécifique et sans compromis de Ganau.

 

Phénix VinoPhénix Vino VINO

Il tappo per vini fermi “Phénix” è stato sviluppato nel laboratorio Ricerca e Sviluppo della nostra azienda dopo diversi anni di sperimentazione e test in bottiglia. L’obiettivo che ci siamo prefissati è stato quello di sviluppare un nuovo tappo di sughero che unisca la tecnologia e l’affidabilità del nostro tappo “UNIQ” e le prestazioni di delle rondelle di sughero naturale di alta qualità. Così è nato un nuovo concetto di tappo, che riflette pienamente il nostro slogan “Cork Tradition & Technology”, un compromesso tra l’eccellenza del sughero naturale e la migliore tecnologia. L’azienda Ganau continua a essere innovativa e pioniera nello sviluppo di un nuovo concetto per fare rivivere il sughero naturale, il “Phénix”.

C2 Bouchons
(0+1)

Ganau offre aussi les bouchons techniques C2, munis d’une seule rondelle de liège naturel. Les bouchons C2 sont destinés à des lignes d’embouteillage équipées d’orienteur de  bouchons, de façon à ce que la rondelle de liège soit le seul élément à être en contact avec votre vin. La gamme C2 offre les caractéristiques techniques et qualitatives comparables à la gamme C3, permettant de réaliser une économie substantielle.

Bouchons à Champagne

En tant que producteur numéro un des bouchons de vins effervescents, Ganau applique des processus de nettoyage et des mesures de contrôle de la qualité rigoureux afin de satisfaire les attentes des maisons de Champagne et de vins effervescents de renom.

 

Bouchons traditionnels
(0+2)

Les bouchons traditionnels de vins effervescents de Ganau sont produits à partir de granulés de liège supérieur sélectionnés pour leur taille uniforme de 4 à 8 mm, nettoyés selon les processus spécifiques de Ganau et moulés individuellement pour garantir un bouchon uniforme et une excellente résistance à la pression. Une fois le corps moulé, nous ajoutons deux rondelles de liège naturel afin d’assurer que seule la pureté du liège naturel entre en contact avec le vin.

Bouchons de champagne UNIQBouchons de champagne UNIQ Champagne

Les bouchons de la gamme UNIQ de Ganau sont constitués de microgranulés assemblés avec précision. Ils offrent différents  avantages comme une réduction importante de la teneur en TCA, un excellent résultat organoleptique, un taux de récupération rapide et un débouchage facile.

Les bouchons UNIQ sont constitués de microgranulés sélectionnés pour leur taille uniforme d’au plus 1 mm, et de microsphères de haute technologie, liés par un agent neutre. Ils ont reçu l’approbation des maisons de Champagne françaises les plus réputées, ainsi que du Comité Interprofessionnel du Vin de Champagne après un examen rigoureux.

PRIMO PLUSPRIMO PLUS PLUS

Les bouchons PRIMO destinés aux vins effervescents sont constitués de microgranulés de liège sélectionnés pour leur taille uniforme d’au plus 2 mm, liés par un agent élastique dédié aux vins effervescents. La gamme PRIMO offre un choix économique et fiable pour les vins effervescents et semi-effervescents à consommation rapide.

PHÉNIX ChampagnePHÉNIX Champagne

Building upon the success of UNIQ which is widely recognized as the leading sparkling wine closure for both wine aromatics and pressure resistance, Ganau unveiled their cutting edge sparkling wine cork, PHÉNIX.

After several years of testing, Ganau has successfully combined the proven reliability of UNIQ with a high end natural disc end. This latest innovative offering allows wineries the opportunity to maintain the traditional cork aesthetic with the added value of UNIQ

Welcome to the Ganau family, PHÉNIX.

Le process

L’intégration verticale de la fabrication permet à Ganau de contrôler avec précision chaque étape de la production et de fournir aux vinificateurs, les meilleurs bouchons au monde. De la préservation des forêts de chêne-liège à ses processus de nettoyage approfondi, Ganau a révolutionné le traitement du liège brut pour créer des bouchons qui dépassent les plus hautes normes de l’industrie.

Forêts et récolte

L’engagement de Ganau envers le liège, un matériau entièrement naturel, durable et recyclable, commence par son dévouement à prendre soin de forêts exploitées et à soutenir des exploitants forestiers méditerranéens soigneusement sélectionnés.

Les pratiques durables de Ganau s’appuient sur des décennies de savoir et une équipe compétente, afin de garantir que les chênes-lièges ne soient jamais blessés durant l’écorçage. Afin de garantir davantage la qualité et la durabilité, les planches de liège ne proviennent jamais de fournisseurs secondaires ni de forêts d’origine inconnue.

Ganau a compris et intégré les précieux avantages de la ressource renouvelable qu’est le liège et est dévoué à des pratiques durables à long terme.

Sélection des planches et entreposage

Une fois le liège brut récolté, les planches sont choisies pour leur épaisseur et leur qualité; celles qui ont des défauts importants sont éliminées. Les planches choisies sont entreposées dans les installations de Ganau en Sardaigne, et à Montijo, au Portugal, sur des palettes en plastique et des sols de béton en plan incliné qui facilitent la circulation de l’air et l’écoulement, et par conséquent, éliminent les risques de contamination. Les planches de liège brut sont entreposées un minimum de huit mois permettant au liège de se stabiliser avant d’être transformé en bouchons.

 

Ganau RevolutionGanau Revolution

L’autoclave à système de ruissellement combine l’eau et la vapeur à 120 °C pour pénétrer les planches de liège en profondeur et diminuer considérablement la teneur en TCA. Le procédé sans immersion Ganau Revolution utilise de l’eau renouvelée en permanence et des températures extrêmes pour obtenir une purification maximale, tout en réduisant la consommation d’eau et la contamination croisée. Ce processus de purification exclusif représente le dernier stade de développement des méthodes de bouillage et possède un taux de réduction des déviations inégalé.

Coupe à la main

Les planches de liège sont coupées en bandes manuellement dans un délai maximum de 24 heures après le processus de nettoyage Ganau Revolution, évitant ainsi tout risque de formation de moisissure et de contamination. Après un examen visuel, les bandes sont découpées par des employés qualifiés, d’abord en carrés puis en bouchons cylindriques naturels. Les chutes créées par la production des bouchons naturels et des rondelles sont transformées par la suite en granulés qui sont moulés en bouchons agglomérés.

Le Process TF

Après l’étape de la coupe, les bouchons et rondelles bruts sont soumis au second processus de nettoyage de Ganau. Le système de nettoyage TF utilise un autoclave personnalisé pour faire pénétrer de la vapeur sous pression en profondeur dans les bouchons et rondelles afin de réduire la teneur en TCA. Ganau a été la première société à intégrer un autoclave dans le processus de nettoyage du liège.

 

Sèlection des granulès

Les granulés de liège sont triés par taille et poids avant d’être nettoyés en profondeur grâce à un système exclusif, où la température élevée extrait le TCA du liège et la vapeur l’entraîne à l’extérieur du système. Chaque cycle de nettoyage est validé par un examen du TCA grâce à une chromatographie en phase gazeuse – spectrométrie de masse avant l’étape du moulage.

 

Moulage individuel

Après le nettoyage et l’examen du TCA, les granulés sont moulés afin de produire les bouchons agglomérés de Ganau. Tous les bouchons techniques de Ganau sont moulés individuellement et non pas extrudés, permettant ainsi d’obtenir des densités uniformes nécessitant un minimum de liant.

 

 

Finition et sélection

Les bouchons achevés sont rincés pour éliminer tout résidu, avec de l’eau pour un fini naturel ou de l’eau oxygénée pour un fini blanchi, avant d’être rapidement séchés grâce à un matériel spécifique permettant d’éliminer immédiatement tout excès d’humidité. Les bouchons sont ensuite triés électroniquement puis visuellement par des employés spécialisés, afin de les séparer en différentes catégories visuelles et d’éliminer tout bouchon présentant des défauts.

Marquage

Quelques soient les quantités, Ganau propose un marquage personnalisé à tous ses clients. Ganau peut aider à concevoir les graphismes, ou assister ses clients à réaliser un marquage au feu ou à l’encre répondant à leurs attentes. La neutralité du marquage au feu est la méthode préférée de vinificateurs de renom. D’autres clients préfèrent le marquage à l’encre qui permet de reproduire avec finesse, des graphismes d’une plus grande complexité.

Lubrification et expédition

L’étape finale du processus de production des bouchons consiste à les lubrifier au moyen du système exclusif de Ganau, qui assure une lubrification égale et uniforme pour obtenir un excellent bouchage, une obturation optimale et un débouchage facile. Une fois lubrifiés, les bouchons sont humidifiés, emballés et scellés pour assurer une qualité maximale à la livraison.

Contrôle de la qualité

Ganau a préservé sa longue réputation de qualité inégalée en développant des méthodes de nettoyage et du contrôle de la qualité, qui sont des figures de proue de la réduction des déviations des bouchons de liège. Au-delà de l’objectif ultime d’éliminer les déviations, l’intégration d’un contrôle de la qualité rigoureux par Ganau tout au long du processus de production garantit des résultats uniformes pour toutes ses gammes de bouchons.

 

Tests au service de la qualité

Ganau utilise des analyses sensorielles et des tests de dépistage de chromatographie en phase gazeuse – spectrométrie de masse (CPGSM) afin de surveiller la présence TCA dans les bouchons bruts et traités. Ganau teste quotidiennement des milliers de bouchons, dépassant de loin les normes de l’industrie afin d’étudier les arômes de fond et les concentrations de TCA. Les tests de CPGSM sont réalisés pendant la production et sur le produit fini, afin d’assurer que seuls les bouchons les plus purs atteignent le stade final.

Outre le dépistage de TCA, Ganau utilise des analyseurs électroniques pour mesurer les dimensions, le poids et le taux d’humidité des bouchons tout au long de la production, pour assurer la conformité des produits finis aux exigences physiques et mécaniques. Ganau est aussi renommée pour sa méthode uniforme de classification des bouchons, exécutée tant par des employés spécialement formés, que par des lecteurs optiques de haute précision.

Pour appliquer ses nombreuses mesures de contrôle de la qualité, Ganau s’appuie sur la technologie moderne et sur des employés qualifiés pour offrir aux vinificateurs des bouchons parmi les meilleurs et les plus purs au monde.

Testimonial

Champagne Billecart Salmon

En perpétuelle recherche de l’excellence, la Maison Billecart-Salmon exige le meilleur pour ses vins.

Depuis plusieurs années, nous travaillons avec GANAU en bouchons traditionnels et avec leurs bouchons technologiques « UNIQ » qui nous ont toujours apporté une très grande satisfaction.

Testimonial

Champagne Hostomme

Notre entreprise familiale basée en Chouilly en plein cœur de la Champagne travaille en collaboration avec la société GANAU comme fournisseur exclusif de nos bouchons depuis plus de 15 ans.

Nous avons sélectionné les bouchons UNIQ, pour notre Cuvée Champagne Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru ABYSSE, les bouteilles sont immergées après dégorgement pendant 12 mois au large de l’ile d’Ouessant par 60 mètres de profondeur.

Nous utilisons les bouchons UNIQ depuis plusieurs années, pour ces qualités technologiques, sa neutralité, son comportement régulier au vieillissement mais aussi au débouchage, et son respect vis-à-vis de nos Champagnes

Laurent Hostomme

Testimonial

Champagne Vollereaux

Je tiens à te féliciter pour la qualité des bouchons UNIQ que j’utilise depuis quelques années sur l’ensemble de ma gamme de champagne. Mes clients sont rassurés quand je leur annonce qu’ils n’auront plus de problème de goût de bouchon et surtout une meilleure étanchéité donc une meilleure garde de leur champagne préféré.

Franck Vollereaux

Testimonial

Champagne Testulat

Fondée en 1862, notre maison familiale collabore avec la société GANAU depuis 12 ans, de par le niveau de performance de leurs bouchons, notre maison de champagne TESTULAT fait totalement confiance aux bouchons GANAU et nous leur confions l’intégralité de nos cuvées. Nos vins les plus prestigieux sont également bouchés avec les bouchons technologiques « UNIQ » de chez GANAU que nous recommandons vivement .

Vincent Testulat

À propos de Ganau

Ganau est une entreprise familiale depuis trois générations. Elle a développé son traitement du liège pendant des décennies afin de répondre aux demandes de vinificateurs de marque du monde entier. Ganau met en valeur des pratiques durables et des techniques de production novatrices, car elle vise la production de bouchons de la meilleure qualité tout en préservant la ressource renouvelable qu’est le liège.

À propos de Ganau

Ganau est une entreprise familiale depuis trois générations. Elle a développé son traitement du liège pendant des décennies afin de répondre aux demandes de vinificateurs de marque du monde entier. Ganau met en valeur des pratiques durables et des techniques de production novatrices, car elle vise la production de bouchons de la meilleure qualité tout en préservant la ressource renouvelable qu’est le liège.


Contacts

Sugherificio Ganau S.p.A.        Zona Industriale                          07029 Tempio Pausania (OT) Italy                                                 T +39 079 630 625                     F +39 079 670 569                       ganau@ganau.it 

Ganau France S.A.                      ZAC des Terres Rouges              18 Allée de la Côte des Blancs 51200 Epernay France                 T +33 326 569 802                    F +33 326 555 318                      contact@ganau.fr 

Ganau America, Inc                     21900 Carneros Oak Lane          Sonoma, CA 95476 USA              P 707.939.1774 / 800.694.CORK  info@ganauamerica.com

Change Language: EN ITA FR

Innovation Fueled by Eight Decades of ExperienceInnovation Fueled by Eight Decades of Experience

Founded on the Italian island of Sardinia in 1941, Ganau relies on eight decades of experience and the integration of modern technology in its pursuit to produce the finest corks possible. Ganau is the first choice of successful winemakers who value purity, performance and reliability.


Scroll to Discover the Ganau Advantage

Natural Corks

Unparalleled Purity

Taking advantage of cork’s intrinsic characteristics, Ganau’s line of natural corks is the preferred seal of prestigious winemakers around the world. Hand-cut by skilled craftsmen and subjected to a two-step cleaning process, Ganau’s natural cork closures redefine the traditional wine closure for the 21st century winemaker, embodying the pinnacle of quality and simplicity.

Natural Corks

Discover the Possibilities

Ganau offers a full line of natural cork in a variety of visual grades, as well as the choice of natural or hydrogen peroxide color. Ganau’s natural finish uses a basic water wash to preserve the natural raw cork texture. Clients can also choose a non-immersion hydrogen peroxide wash process designed to provide the improved aesthetic with minimal exposure to the washing agents. By offering a full range of natural corks, Ganau ensures that their clients receive the highest quality and purest natural corks available.

Technical Corks

An Innovative and Accessible Alternative

Ganau’s wide spectrum of technical corks provides a viable alternative to natural cork closures. Ganau employs cutting-edge technology and processes to ensure consistency and quality in each of its technical cork lines, from the standard 1+1 to the newly added PRIMO and UNIQ lines of micro-granulated corks.

In order to assure performance and purity, Ganau produces all granules utilized for technical corks from dedicated raw material and wastage generated from the production of solid natural corks and discs.

UNIQUNIQ

Validated by several independent laboratories and considered the undisputed leader of technical corks, the UNIQ line represents the cork of choice for 21st century winemakers.

Constructed from natural cork micro-granules selected for uniform sizing of 1mm or smaller, a neutral bonding agent, and high quality microspheres, UNIQ offers superior organoleptic performance, rapid recovery rate, mechanical homogeneity and smooth extraction.

Micro-granules used for UNIQ are treated with Ganau’s temperature driven cleaning process, mixed with microspheres for added elasticity and individually molded for consistency.

UNIQ is the most advanced technical cork option available to winemakers looking for superior technology, cleanliness and dependability.

PRIMOPRIMO

PRIMO corks combine quality natural ingredients with cutting-edge technology. Designed to deliver consistent performance and quality, they are individually molded for greater uniformity and superior appearance.

Premium micro cork granules are selected for uniform sizing of 2mm or smaller before being treated with temperature (up to 180o Celsius) to drastically reduce TCA. Created from natural cork materials using a neutral bonding agent, PRIMO offers an economic seal for non-aging wines.

The PRIMO line takes full advantage of Ganau’s unique and uncompromising production process.

C3 Corks
(1+1)

Ganau’s premier C3 line of technical corks consists of agglomerated bodies with solid natural cork disc ends.

The agglomerated bodies are composed of cork granules that are diligently cleaned before being selected for size uniformity, weight and quality. These bodies are individually molded (instead of extruded) to assure improved bottling performance, consistent seal and easy extraction. Once the C3 cork bodies are formed, solid natural cork end discs are added, providing the visual appearance of solid cork at a competitive price point.

Sparkling Corks

As the leading producer of sparkling wine corks, Ganau has applied stringent cleaning processes and implemented advanced quality control measures in order to meet the demanding standards of top Champagne and Sparkling Wine houses.

Traditional Sparkling
(0+2)

Ganau’s line of traditional sparkling wine corks are produced with superior cork granules selected for uniform size between 4 and 8 mm and cleansed with Ganau’s unique processes, before being individually molded to guarantee a uniform seal and excellent pressure resistance. Once the body is molded, two solid cork end discs are added to ensure that only the purity of natural cork comes into contact with the wine.

UNIQ SparklingUNIQ Sparkling Sparkling

Ganau’s UNIQ line of sparkling wine closures is precision-engineered with uniform micro-granules and no disc ends, offering benefits such as significant TCA reduction, excellent organoleptic performance, rapid recovery rate and easy extraction.

Composed of micro-granules selected for uniform size of less than 1mm, a neutral bonding agent, and microspheres, the UNIQ line has been positively tested by the most prestigious French Champagne houses, as well as approved by the Comité Interprofessionel du Vin de Champagne after undergoing rigorous testing.

PRIMO PLUS SparklingPRIMO PLUS Sparkling PLUS

Ganau’s PRIMO line of sparkling wine closures is composed of cork micro-granules selected for uniform size of less than 2mm and an elastic bonding agent specifically used for sparkling wine applications. PRIMO corks offer an economical, thus reliable choice for quick consumption sparkling and semi-sparkling wines.

PHÉNIX SparklingPHÉNIX Sparkling

Building upon the success of UNIQ which is widely recognized as the leading sparkling wine closure for both wine aromatics and pressure resistance, Ganau unveiled their cutting edge sparkling wine cork, PHÉNIX.

After several years of testing, Ganau has successfully combined the proven reliability of UNIQ with a high end natural disc end. This latest innovative offering allows wineries the opportunity to maintain the traditional cork aesthetic with the added value of UNIQ

Welcome to the Ganau family, PHÉNIX.

Ganau Method

In order to provide winemakers with the finest cork closures in the world, Ganau’s manufacturing allows for precision control over each step of production. From maintaining cork forests to deep-cleaning processes, Ganau has revolutionized the way raw cork is processed to produce corks that exceed the highest industry standards.

Forests + Harvesting

As a 100% natural, sustainable and recyclable material, Ganau’s commitment to cork begins with a dedication to nurturing company-owned forests and supporting selected Mediterranean growers.

Ganau’s sustainable practices rely on decades of knowledge and a skilled team, in order to guarantee the cork oaks are never harmed during the extraction process.

As a renewable resource, Ganau understands the amazing benefits of cork and is dedicated to long-term sustainable practices.

Plank Selection + Storage

Once the raw cork has been harvested, the planks are selected for thickness and quality, thus discarding those with any critical defects. The chosen planks are stored at Ganau facilities in Sardinia, Italy and Montijo, Portugal, where the utilization of plastic pallets and sloped concrete floors serve to improve air circulation and drainage, eliminating the possibility of contamination. The raw planks are left to cure for a minimum of eight months in order to stabilize before being processed into corks.

Ganau RevolutionGanau Revolution

Ganau’s custom-designed high-pressure rain system autoclaves utilize 120o Celsius water and steam to penetrate deeper into raw cork planks and dramatically decrease TCA levels. Ganau Revolution’s specialized non-immersive cleaning steps employ fresh water and extreme temperatures to consistently achieve maximum purification, while reducing water usage and cross-contamination. The proprietary Ganau Revolution purification process represents the latest stage in the development of traditional boiling methods and is unrivaled in taint reduction.

Hand Cutting

Cork planks are hand-cut into strips within 24 hours of completing the Ganau Revolution cleaning process, preventing an unnecessary waiting period at high moisture levels which can lead to mold growth and possible contamination. After passing visual inspection, the strips are hand-cut by skilled employees, first into squares and then into cylindrical natural corks. The excess material created during the production of natural corks and discs is subsequently broken down into granules to be later molded into agglomerated corks.

TF Process

Following the cutting stage, the raw corks and discs are submitted to Ganau’s second cleaning process. Centered on a custom-manufactured autoclave system, the TF cleaning system penetrates deep into corks and discs with pressurized steam to further diminish TCA. Ganau’s cleaning system was the first in the cork industry to implement an autoclave in the processing of cork products.

Granule Selection + Cleaning

Cork granules are selected by weight and size before being extensively cleaned in a proprietary system, where high temperatures cause the presence of TCA within the cork to be displaced and steam to move volatile compounds outside the system. Each cleaning cycle is tested for TCA (through our GCMS’s) before proceeding to the next stage of molding.

Individual Molding

After cleaning and testing for TCA, granules are molded to produce Ganau’s line of agglomerated corks. All of Ganau’s technical corks are individually molded instead of extruded to produce consistent densities while requiring minimal glue.

Completion + Selection

Finished cork products are rinsed of any production residue, using water for a natural finish or hydrogen peroxide for a white finish, before being rapidly dried by specialized machines to immediately remove any excess moisture. Corks are sorted first electronically and then by employees, simultaneously dividing the finished corks into different visual classes and eliminating any corks with flaws or critical defects.

Fire Branding + Ink Printing

Whether order quantities are in the millions or few thousands, Ganau offers cork branding to all of its clients. Ganau can assist in designing artwork, as well as work with clients to execute fire and ink branding that meets their requirements. Fire branding is the preferred method of prestigious winemakers, since the final brand consists of a neutral imprint, whereas ink branding may benefit clients that require complex artwork or a more economical alternative to fire branding.

Lubrication + Shipping

In the final step of the production process, all cork products are lubricated using Ganau’s exclusive system, which achieves perfectly even and consistent lubrication for excellent bottling performance, optimal seal and easy extraction. Once lubricated, corks are moisturized, packaged and sealed to ensure maximum quality upon delivery.

Quality Control

Ganau has sustained its long-standing reputation for unparalleled quality by developing industry-leading cleaning and quality control procedures in the reduction of taint from cork closures. Beyond the ultimate goal of eliminating taint, Ganau’s implementation of rigorous quality control standards throughout the production process guarantees consistent performance from its full line of cork closures.

Testing For Quality

Ganau employs sensory and GCMS screening tests to diligently monitor the presence of TCA in raw and processed cork materials. Ganau soaks thousands of corks on a daily basis, drastically exceeding industry standards in order to study background aromas and TCA concentrations. GCMS tests are performed through production and finished product, ensuring that only the purest corks enter the final production stages.

Beyond TCA screening, Ganau utilizes precision electronic analyzers to measure dimensions, weight and moisture levels of cork products throughout the production process, making certain that the final corks meet both physical and mechanical specifications. Ganau is also well known for its uniform method of grading corks, performed by both specially-trained employees and carefully calibrated electronic eyes.

In applying a wide spectrum of quality control measures, Ganau relies upon modern technology and skilled employees to provide winemakers with some of the purest and highest-quality corks in the world.

Testimonial

Corra Wines

Our vineyard and winery teams strive for perfection at every point from bud-break to bottling.  When it comes to trusting a natural cork to keep flavors safe during the rest of the wine’s journey, I need to know that my cork supplier takes as much pride in their product as I do in mine.  Ganau seeks the same perfection that I do.

Celia Welch
Winemaker

Testimonial

Greg La Follette

My partner, Patrick Dillon, and I conducted an extensive two years cork trial with Alquimista’s most high end wine, Cellar Dreams ($94/bottle).  We compared UNIQ with a solid natural cork and synthetic closure.

We love the consistency UNIQ brings in the bottle and the absence of any form of taint. We are now using UNIQ with all of our wines.

Greg La Follette, Winemaker

Testimonial

Champagne Billecart Salmon

In the continual pursue of perfection, Billecart Salmon accepts only the finest closures for our wines.

For the past several years, we have been working with GANAU both with their traditional corks as well as “UNIQ”, their technical closure, which is keeping us extremely satisfied.

 

 

 

Testimonial

Trione Vineyards

I have been using UNIQ for the last 4 years in my Pinot, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc and have been absolutely happy with their performance.  I plan to use them more and more going forward and recommend them to anyone interested in a taint free, consistent closure for their wine.

Scott Covington
Winemaker

Testimonial

Champagne M.Hostomme

GANAU has been our exclusive supplier for more than 15 years. We choose UNIQ for our Cuvée Champagne Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru ABYSSE. The bottles are submerged for 12 months in the Ocean at 60 meters depth. UNIQ perfectly preserved the wine’s integrity even under these extreme conditions.

We have been using UNIQ for several years for its technological qualities, its neutrality, its homogeneity, its innate attitude for a better wine ageing, its extraction consistency and its respect for our Champagne.

Laurent Hostomme

Testimonial

Champagne Vollereaux

Thank you Ganau for the quality you provide us with UNIQ. I have been using UNIQ exclusively for a few years in the entire portfolio of champagne that we produce. My clients are reassured when I tell them that they will not have any corked wine anymore. Uniq provides them with a better sealing, thus a better guard of their favorite champagne.

Franck VOLLEREAUX

Testimonial

Meyer Cellars

For aromatic whites and rose UNIQ is the obvious choice.  We have not had a single bottle with cork taint.

Matthew Meyer

 

Testimonial

Champagne Testulat

Founded in 1862, our family winery has been buying GANAU corks since 2002. Because of the level of performance, TESTULAT has full confidence in their corks and we have been working exclusively with Ganau for all our cuvées. We choose their technological cork, UNIQ, for our most prestigious wines and we highly recommend it.

Vincent Testulat

Testimonial

Arnot-Roberts

Our experience using Ganau natural corks for our single vineyard cabernet sauvignons has been outstanding. The look, feel and sensory consistency of the product is unparalleled. We farm, harvest and craft our cabernets with the intention that they will continue to improve for decades in the cellar. Using the best cork in the business is the only choice for us and Ganau makes that choice easy.

Duncan Arnot Meyers

Proprietor

Locations

Founded on the Italian island of Sardinia in 1941, Ganau has grown to become Italy’s largest producer of corks. Ganau  serves French wineries from locations in Epernay, along with US clients via their facility in Sonoma, California. Ganau has augmented its operations across the globe in order to provide winemakers with the highest quality corks available.

About

Family-owned and operated for three generations, Ganau has spent decades developing the way cork is processed in order to meet the demands of eminent winemakers around the world. Ganau focuses on sustainable practices and innovative production techniques, as it aims to produce optimally performing wine closures while maintaining cork’s status as a renewable resource.


Industry News

Read about the latest news and updates from Ganau:

Blog
Press

Contact

Sugherificio Ganau S.p.A.        Zona Industriale                          07029 Tempio Pausania (OT) Italy                                                 T +39 079 630 625                     F +39 079 670 569                       ganau@ganau.it 

Ganau France S.A.                      ZAC des Terres Rouges              18 Allée de la Côte des Blancs 51200 Epernay France                 T +33 326 569 802                    F +33 326 555 318                      contact@ganau.fr 

Ganau America, Inc                     21900 Carneros Oak Lane          Sonoma, CA 95476 USA              P 707.939.1774 / 800.694.CORK  info@ganauamerica.com